1. Education
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Syracuse University Photo Tour


1 of 15

Syracuse University – Hall of Languages Steps
Hall of Languages at Syracuse University

Hall of Languages Steps at Syracuse University (click image to enlarge)

Photo Credit: Eliza Kinnealy

Syracuse University, also known as 'Cuse or SU, is a private coeducational research university in Syracuse, New York. Founded in 1870, Syracuse currently has about 21,000 students enrolled, with roughly 14,000 undergraduates. Its school color is orange and its mascot is named Otto the Orange.

The university is separated into thirteen academic schools/colleges: School of Architecture, College of Arts and Sciences, School of Education, David B. Falk College of Sport and Human Dynamics, School of Information Studies (iSchool), College of Law, Maxwell School of Citizenship and Public Affairs, S.I, Newhouse School of Public Communications, L.C. Smith College of Engineering and Computer Science, University College, College of Visual and Performing Arts, Martin J. Whitman School of Management, and the Graduate School.

Syracuse is a member of the Big East Conference for all NCAA Division I athletics and will join the Atlantic Coast Conference on July 1, 2013.

Some famous Syracuse alumni include Dick Clark, Joe Biden, Jim Brown, Vanessa Williams, Ernie Davis, and Betsey Johnson.

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.